Gratitude

Img_0789

Megan Shreve, the executive director of SCCAP, is one of the most positive people I have ever met. Though I do not work directly with Megan every day, whenever I do see her, she is always sure to commend me for all I have been doing at SCCAP. “Good job,” she says, and always “Thank you.”

Megan incorporates gratitude into her life, her work, and everyone around her. Every week at the end of the Circles meeting, each person verbally appreciates the person sitting next to her. The appreciator explains why she is grateful for that person, whether it is a specific characteristic, or just the simple fact that he is present at the meeting. The appreciated gets to bask in the appreciation. I have so enjoyed this weekly practice because it reminds me to be grateful for all that I have, and to acknowledge it.

This summer I have gained a better appreciation for all that I have. I have positive people in my life, a supportive family, the ability to pursue higher education, innumerable opportunities to explore my interests, and an abundance of other blessings. I do not have to worry where I my next meal will come from, or how I will pay electric bills, or where I will sleep, or how I will get from one place to another. All of these privileges I often take for granted. Megan, and many of the people I’ve worked with SCCAP, remind me to appreciate.

That being said, I would like to take time to thank and shout out to some of the key people who allowed me to partake in this experience.

Thank you to Kim and Gretchen, who gave me a chance to be a Heston summer intern. Thank you for taking the time to get to know me, and always providing support and guidance.

Thank you to Megan for reminding me to be grateful, and for being an incredible mentor and leader for me.

Thank you to Micheline and Lisa for guiding and teaching me at the food pantry.

Thank you to Tammy for helping me find various supplies in the CPS office, taking care of timesheet mishaps, and suggesting interesting things to do in Gettysburg over the summer.
Thank you to Yaou, Melanie, Chandra, and Mauricio for sharing food, conversation, and a home with me this summer. I’ve enjoyed getting to know all of you, and learning to appreciate you as you are.

Thank you to my sweet family, who provides endless support and love. I love you forever.

Thank you to all of the readers of this blog. I appreciate your interest and your dedication!

Lastly, many, many, many thanks to Mr. Jim Heston, whose generosity made it possible for me to participate in this experience.

Thank you, gracias, merci, grazie!

-Maura

The last photo is all of the Gettysburg interns at our end-of-the-summer celebration.

Leave a Reply

