Down The Line

If you’re wondering why it took so long for me to blog again, it’s because I just finished reading Chris’ posts (love you buddy). Any who, the last 2 weeks have been filled with many adventures now that summer school has finally started. I was placed in the Higher Ed class in the school, so I’m working with rising 11th and 12th graders that I had previously worked with during the after school tutoring sessions over the school year. Being the oldest of the summer-schoolees, there is less of a focus on class work such as math and science and more of a focus on things the kids might encounter after graduating such as careers and college. Because of that, I will be going on many field trips with the kids instead of helping them with schoolwork. The first day of school was standard first day things, but the second day we took a field trip to the Pennsylvania College of Technology in Williamsport (a 6 hour roundtrip including all the times we got lost). It was interested seeing a technical school, and it seemed the kids got a good introduction to one of the many types of schools they could attend as an alternate just going straight into the workforce. The campus was beautiful and I got to tour the Health Sciences building that included a full dentist office. One the third day we went to the Climbnasium in Mechanicsburg where the kids rock climbed to learn team-building and trust. A few of the kids climbed to the top of the highest wall and signed their names into a book at the top (my hands gave out after 3 attempts at a really difficult wall so I belayed for a bulk of the time). On the fourth day everyone visited Dickinson College, the alma mater of the Higher Ed teacher. It was really weird for me going on a college visit after going to college for 2 years now, especially since I really didn’t do any prior to arriving to Gettysburg my first day of freshman year. During the financial aid presentation, the woman giving the information told them they didn’t have to be rich geniuses to get in, which was a perfect time for me to tell the class my story about having a 1.27 GPA the 3rd quarter of my sophomore year in high school. The kids all looked at me in disbelief and a tad bit of disappointment, but hopefully I gave them a little something to think about why they apply to college. Today Higher Ed went to the Adams County SPCA, a local animal shelter where some of them will be doing community service. All the wittle animwals were swo cute and fwuffy and they had doggies and kitties and horsies…..
Aside from my return to public school lunches and 20-minute trips New Oxford, life with the Hestons has been pretty entertaining. We continue doing the adult English classes and Circles, which are always filled with good times and new stories from the townsfolk (I think the only reason they like having me around is because I translate Spanish for them when they need it, but anyways…). Matt, the man in charge at the adult classes, is also an aid in my classroom at school, so I basically hang out with him for 12 hours Tuesdays and Thursdays. On Fridays we continue having breakfast with Kim and Gretchen, with my main man Jorge joining us last Friday to discuss his life story and general social issues and just basically reinforcing my belief of how awesome he is. A couple Sundays ago we hit the lake where we saw some of the area’s colorful people and the girls forced me into photos. I also went to Senior Yoga with Melanie when Chandra was away (because that’s the thoughtful, sweet kind of person I am) and it was pretty relaxing. It may have also given me the stretches I needed to slightly improve my jump shot, but that has yet to be proven. I also got to play with Kim’s doggie today. It was so fwuffy and fwiendly and adowable…
That’s all I have for now. I don’t have any pictures this time as I am not really a fan of photographs (something my housemates have yet to understand) but maybe I’ll get some next time. Maybe.
-Mauricio
P.S. The title of this post is the title of a crappy song I forced myself to write because I hadn’t been writing much this summer. As you can see I’m chock full of clever titles for things…

Leave a Reply

