Ninakosa CKP

Dear Melanie and Chandra,
Reading about your work with the Campus Kitchen and the seniors is making me miss them. A lot. Keep being awesome and post more!

Maybe it’s just reading about the work the Gburg interns are doing that is making me miss the Campus Kitchen, but last week’s work made me miss it too. On Wednesday I finally got to check out KMET’s work with food security. We went out to a small farm owned by a couple who has agreed to be KMET’s guinea pig. It was one of the coolest things I’ve seen here. He was growing mangos, oranges, papayas, maize, and pumpkins all on his property. He also had a fish farm, goats, cows, chickens, and roosters. He was practicing cross breeding them to make the most profitable animals to introduce into the community. The result is a giant chicken, which he gave to me to hold while explaining his philosophy. And there are no hormones or pesticides used. It is not an organic movement fueling this situation, just convenience, and it was awesome. They also were testing out bagged kitchen gardens, which is exactly what it sounds like. Allow families to grow their own food in bags of soil saves space, water, and money. I want to continue working with this, but there is always an issue of transport to go visit the sights.

Thursday was a lot of paper work things and a brief trip out to the field. We visited the District Hospital and walked through the child malnutrition ward. That was rough. It takes a lot to be admitted into the hospital here. Sometimes there were two kids to a bed, all with IVs. Some were crying, others looked too weak to do much more than blink. However, we inquired about a once a week visit to gain in patient experience. I was to go Tuesday and Ludi on Thursdays.

Friday was an outreach that spanned across all the KMET departments. We went to a local school for dental check ups, ultrasounds, and deworming. Four of us dewormed over 1000 kids. As mundane and small as deworming kids is, I actually enjoy doing it. The kids are funny and try all sorts of tricks to get out of taking it. It’s like a game- how quickly can they escape before I told them “tafuna kwanza” (chew first). I managed to get most of them.
Over the weekend Ludi and I went with our coworker, Jon, to a Gor Mahia soccer match. I had gone to one in Nairobi when I was abroad and it was a little rough, but this time it was fun. Ludi and I even made it on national television, with the announcer commenting “what kind of gor fans are these?” I guess we stuck out a lot.

Today was my first day at the district hospital. It went fine, I mostly just observed. Next time I will hopefully get more involved.

Luckily, the frustration of the last post has slowed down a lot. I feel like there is at least something to do everyday, even if it’s not hard hitting let’s-save-the-world stuff.

Emily

A-101_1A-106A-132

Leave a Reply

